Daily Archives: 13/01/2012

Promise to Care


Isaiah 54

(5) For your Maker is your husband,
the LORD of hosts is his name;
and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer,
the God of the whole earth he is called.

Whilst specifically this book was spoken to His people in Judah and most specifically Jerusalem, it is in the bible for more than historical interest and more than evidence of the plans laid for the coming Messiah.

As I have already said, I believe that God is telling us to appropriate these promises for ourselves and taken as words spoken to you and me that can be all a bit weird and difficult to get hold of for most men, perhaps it’s easier if your a married woman reading this but I guess that depends on your experience of marriage…

I think the use of the word Husband meant far more to the Jewish audience than to many people today who don’t understand the significance God attributes to marriage, the ideal state for us.

The Torah is clear is saying “A man who does not marry is not a complete person” and Jesus certainly spent time putting the religious leaders of the day straight about His Father’s view on it by going back to scripture to point to Adam and Eve.

Consider that God is pointing to the covenant He has made with us.

The duties of a husband within the covenant were to protect and provide for his bride and that, I believe is what God wants you to get hold of deep within you. He promises to care for you, protect you, provide for you, care for your emotional needs and will always love you.

After all, elsewhere He tells us that “He will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Then, just in case you have begun to think that your problems are bigger than God, He reminds us that He is the Lord of Hosts, our Redeemer, the God of the whole earth.

Have you got that?

He is bigger than your struggles.

He is the God of the heavens and the earth, Lord over all.

There is none mightier.

So don’t worry and don’t get all caught up in works theology.

He has it all in control if your keeping on track with Him, and if your not then do the sensible thing, stop hiding and say sorry because His love for you brings more mercy and grace than you could imagine.

What’ s more, remember that He disciplines those He loves, He is so good!!

Also remember that we do what we do because of what Hs has done for us, we cannot work our way into His love. He doesn’t need our help but He loves it when we do.

I am thankful that it all depends on Him and not me, so I try to be obedient, love God and my neighbour and hold things lightly and when I get it wrong, thinking its all up to me or all wrapped up in worry, I am thankful He will never leave me.

I am thankful for His grace, mercy and love.

Are you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Kingdom Come, Thinking aloud