Daily Archives: 06/01/2012

I rejoice in You


Compare the promise of the world

Know the truth of the lie

The succulent morsel that promises so much

That sucks you in to it’s vacuous lurid disillusionment

Leaving you stunned with incredulity

Gasping and struggling for breath as the realisation of folly

Descends upon you like a blanket that at first

Feels warm but

Cools and

Chills and

Begins to suffocate

As disbelief at your stupidity

Sets in

Freezes in

Frozen

Unable to believe

The gullible stupidity

Driven by immediate need seemingly unmet

Urgent need cried out for yet unmet.

Desolation.

Anger.

Who’s to blame?

Not me, I prayed

Cried out

Sought His face

Yet needs unmet

MY needs

Unmet

Betrayed

Forsaken

“Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?”

But Truth presses in

His Truth

The One I tried from whom I tried to run

My Lover

My Lord

The One who sought me through the wilderness

Walked alongside me

Through the Darkness

For darkness is as light to you

Whilst I was charmed,

Then beguiled,

Then stunned,

Then numb

You walked along side

Waiting to catch me again

As I fell

Into Your arms

Into Your Love

Like no other

Your Truth is True

Real and

Deep and

Endless.

As I realised my imprisonment in the trap of beguiling sin

I came before you

Shameful and foolish

Yet You ran to me as You saw me approach in my shame

By Your Grace

By the strength of your arm

You preserved me

Although by my sin I was condemned to die.

My salvation is my strength

You O Lord are my redeemer

I rejoice in You

You alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Me & Jesus, Poetry

There Must Be More by Regina Forest


I was sat with a couple only a couple of days ago wondering over the more God has for us…

There Must Be More.

1 Comment

Filed under Thinking aloud